Curry Leaf Plebeyo Facebook Link
Curry Leaf Twitter Link
Telephone: 01392 438 994

Curry Leaf is located on North Street in Exeter, and serves the finest Indian Cuisine in the area

-->

Make a comment about Curry Leaf

Be the first to leave a comment about us!

Just fill in the form below (your information will not be used for any other purpose, nor will it be shared with any third parties

“Better than expected!” Tripadvisor Review 18 September 2015

Whilst staying in Exeter on Business, a colleague and I were staying in the centre of Exeter and we came across this restaurant. We saw the 5 star cleanliness standards rating sticker in the window and we headed in. The menu was slightly different from your typical indian restaurant and there was a good selection to choose from and the waiter was on hand to explain what things were if you were unsure. The food was top notch and like others have said, it was not your typical greasy sauce. We had the Chefs meat platter to start with, along with some poppodums. We then had a chicken dish (name escaped me), which was a similar spice level to a jalfrezi, but much more tasty and they reccommended the best rice to accompany it. It was delicious. The prices are very reasonable and the bill was almost £10 less than what we were expecting to pay. Well worth a visit and I will certainly be going back when I am next in Exeter.

“Excellent, Authentic, Real Indian Food!” Tripadvisor Review 17 September 2015

I have eaten here a couple of times and I must say it's quickly becoming my favourite Indian restaurant in town. It's just so different from your standard curry house, with authentic South Indian dishes that are NOT swimming in oil (as is the custom at so many Indian restaurants in the UK). The dishes are delicate yet packed with flavours, and there is plenty to choose from in the menu. The service is also impeccable. Perhaps the only criticism I have is that the portions are a little small - but apart from that this place deserves to be more widely known and appreciated for actually trying to provide a real Indian gastronomic experience.

“Excellent South Indian Food” Tripadvisor Review 15 August 2015

Wonderful staff who created beautiful food for us. Lots of allergies (wheat/bell peppers/tomatoes) and vegetarian too but there was meals on the menu we could eat without any changes. The flavours were wonderful, the meals cooked with fresh ingredients, herbs and spices. Not your average English curry at all and in a very good way! Maybe previous visitors have expected an average english curry due to the word curry been in the name, so a more South India name may work better. It is tucked away on a side street and the decor isn't super high class but it is clean, the food is beautiful and the staff are friendly and helpful - the most important things.

“A little gem” Tripadvisor Review 14 September 2015

Stumbled across this place, quiet on a Monday evening. Excellent starters - chef's veg selection - & mains - masala dosa, chicken stew apad. Good value, well worth a visit

“Unpretentious and very, very tasty” Tripadvisor Review 12 September 2015

3rd time here and food has been outstanding each time. Southern Indian and not your usual chicken tikka masala type meal. The staff are very proud to explain the dishes and the unusual ingredients. Advise booking and taking your time. We'll be regular returners.

“A superb festival” Tripadvisor Review 31 August 2015

I have been before! This time the restaurant was again providing a festival banquet of many different dishes [20+] served on a banana leaf! Vast range of flavours and texture and superb quality. Excellenty well organised and very good service. Very little oil used which is sometimes the case in other restaurants. The restaurant is not pretentious with simple decor and furnishings and those in the window can see out and be seen from the street!

Certainly one of the best Indian meals I have eaten.

“Superb Meal” Tripadvisor Review 29 August 2015

Excellent thoroughly tasty dishes, levels of wonderful flavours, whole spices, real food! So refreshing to find a real Indian restaurant & not another curry house. We wish this restaurant is closer to home but we we will be back, so worth the journey.

“Authentic, great tasting curry, lovely staff and atmosphere” Tripadvisor Review 24 August 2012

Our 2nd visit to the Curry Leaf and on both occasions the food has been incredible- great to have South Indian food and to find a curry in England that tastes like they do in India! On this occasion we had a special reason to visit- we were trying the spicy curry trick to prompt our overdue baby into labour- the staff were so friendly and the atmosphere was great, and hey presto that night labour started! We will definitely be back to try out more of the menu!

“Too Good to Miss” Tripadvisor Review 24 August 2012

I've eaten here three times now and the food is superb. The Masala Dosa is unutterably delicious and I'd also recommend the Chef's Platter as a tasty starter. Unless you know it the restaurant is a little hard to spot but well worth finding and very near the main high street. The service is extremely attentive and informative. Portions are just right and the food light and fresh.

“Beautiful Authentic Joy” Tripadvisor Review 22 August 2012

I went to Curry Leaf with a large group of people for my birthday and it was fantastic. Authentic Southern Indian food, beautifully presented and excellent portions. I am very excited to go back for the Masala Dosa, It was hard enough to find places that served it in Palolem so finding it in Exeter is a real treat. This is a place you must try, veggie, meat, spicy or mild, they cater for everyone

“First Rate” Tripadvisor Review 18 August 2012

We turned up by chance on a Saturday evening and had a splendid meal. Food is from Kerala in South India and is much lighter than traditional. Interesting vegetarian food including starters. Masala Dosa for main course and Rose Kulfi. I think that this is the best Indian meal I have ever eaten. The restaurant was quiet and the owner and chef both took the time to talk to us and explain the food. The pickles and kulfi are both home made which is pleasant and unusual

“Excellent, different Indian” Tripadvisor Review 16 August 2012

Very high quality South Indian food. We are going to try the vegetarian options next time. Main courses come with rice – don't order extra unless you are extremely hungry!

“Genuine Indians with Proper Indian Food” Tripadvisor Review 4 August 2012

Thank goodness!
South Indian food
Dosa and Chetinard
Chef designed dishes for Michelin star Veraswammey in London
This food is amazing!

“best food in town” Tripadvisor Review 31 July 2012

i am an indian and working as a head chef for indian restaurants in england from last 7 years,i was in exeter last week with my friends who are regular visitors of curry leaf, they took me to curry leaf......food was so nice and reasonable priced,my first reaction was ....i want to meet chef, and when chef BIJU came to see me i offer him job, but my bad luck chef Biju owns that restaurant....but i must say if you love indian food sp'ecialy dosa you should visit curry leaf..
chef Biju all the very best....n we ll back for sure

“India away from India” Tripadvisor Review 25 July 2012

I was at curry leaf with some of my friends who visit there often and now I know why do they visit so often. The food just reminds me of the real flavors of India.
The dosa is simply amazing. Almost all the South-Indian dishes were finger licking good and also priced very reasonably. The chef's special platter has a good variety of snacks.
I would just say try it and love it!!

“The only one!” Tripadvisor Review 21 July 2012

We were very pleased to visit the 'Curry leaf' recently. Hands on heart, it is the only authentic Indian restaurant in Exeter. The chef has got tremendous experience having worked in places like Taj Residency(India), Veraswamy (London).

The menu is very authentic including dishes like Dosa, Appam with stew, Malabar curry (emphasis mainly on south Indian cuisine). The menu is not very vast. Its the quality not the quantity which matters.

We visited the restaurant couple times and the food was really good- honest and full of real flavour!. The staff were extremely polite and friendly. They are in the process of making a few more changes to the menu..really looking forward to it. If you are on the look out for Jalfrezi, Balti- this is not the place!

The ambience could be better but the food compensates for it.

We found Mary Archers car park very convenient as it yards away from the restaurant.

Definitely recommend this restaurant for real flavour of Indian coooking.

Mr Rakesh

Very traditional south Indian dishes with authentic flavours. Appam with stew, Dosa- highly recommemded. Extremely friendly and polite staff. Proud to have \'Curry Leaf\' in Exeter.
Well worth the visit!.

Gemma

We had a lovely meal at Curry Leaf last night, it was great to have some different Indian cuisine, the quality of the food was excellent, and the price very reasonable. The chutney\'s and the Appam were delicious. We hope to come back for the Banana Leaf Thali at the end of August!

Eloise

Very friendly staff and excellent food! Cant wait to go again and i would definatly recommend it!

Law Turley

Ate at The Curry Leaf last night with my friends after hearing good things, and was very impressed. Gorgeous authentic flavours and impressive presentation, everything arrived quickly and was hot and delicious. Don\'t be put off by the sparse interior, The Curry Leaf is a real gem :)

Daine

The best Indian food in Exeter.